Q is for Quest

“The first step to the knowledge of the wonder and mystery of life is the recognition of the monstrous nature of the earthly human realm as well as its glory, the realization that this is just how it is and that it cannot and will not be changed. Those who think they know how the universe could have been had they created it, without pain, without sorrow, without time, without death, are unfit for illumination.”  ~ Joseph Campbell

On the quest to myself.
On the quest to myself.

I have been on a quest all of my days. Seeking to know and understand myself, my life, the meaning of everything, began for me at a very early age. Discontent from the beginning given the inadequate answers I was given by those supposedly in the know, I sought beyond the real world around me for something intangible and which I could not name.  And while I am older and considerably wiser, that quest is still on, for it seems we do not get to the end of the journey but only continue to grow as we go. At every phase of my life I have reached for that which seemed to be the answer to these questions I asked, only to find more questions. Even as meaning was understood and integrated subconsciously, I could count myself a bit more aware only as I absorbed the lessons from the practical experiences I had.

“We’re not on our journey to save the world but to save ourselves. But in doing that you save the world. The influence of a vital person vitalizes.”  ~ Joseph Campbell

This lifelong seeking has made the journey here interesting. My quest has not been so thrilling as a knight of old seeking for the Holy Grail, but not unlike it, either. The journey to myself, to an understanding of my being is akin to the pursuit of that beloved chalice  which holds the elixir of my spirit. There is contained all the answers to everything. Small sips from the cup have given me a peek into dimensions for which there are no words. Taste and you can experience an out of this world ride that brings a shift in perception, a different focus altogether from the worldly one in which I live. These glimpses are just that, as the major distractions of living have kept me from a full-time look inward. Besides,ready answers would defeat the purpose of being here. Our  goal is really to find out how to “be in the world but not of the world” as we negotiate the pathways of experience here. This I can say I am doing better these days. Those glimpses of the more, of the All, lure me, keep me on the journey, keep me on the quest.

“Where you stumble and fall, there you will find gold.”  ~ Joseph Campbell

What can help us to get there are the many experiences, mistakes, efforts made along the way. There are pitfalls, potholes, sinkholes, chasms. We will necessarily fall in. Without learning what does not work, we will be like dogs chasing our tails endlessly around our lives until we figure out the futility in that activity. Once we have, we are on our way. From there we begin to gain wisdom as we go. We are on the “Hero’s Journey,” as Joseph Campbell has termed it, and we are the heroes of our very lives.Q

© 2014 Egyirba High All Rights Reserved

Feel free to share this post with others, as long as you include the copyright information and keep the whole posting intact. If you like this piece, please share it with others. You can like me on Facebook to see more of my writing and my personal and spiritual journey.

2 thoughts on “Q is for Quest

Leave a Reply

